Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Breaking News: Senator Biyi Durojaiye Nominated AS New NCC Chairman


Pending the Approval of the Senate, Senator Biyi Durojaiye has been appointed as the new Chairman of the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) by President Muhammadu Buhari.


A statement released by Presidential Media Adviser, Femi Adesina, on Tuesday, August 2, 2016, indicates that the nomination of Senator Durojaiye and other key Non-Executive Commissioners of the telecom regulatory body, is in line with Section 8(1) of the Nigerian Communications Commission Act 2003.
Senator Biyi Durojaiye, born in 1933, has a BSc (Economics) London, and an LLB, London. He was called to the Nigerian Bar in 1979, and is a Barrister and Solicitor of the Supreme Court of Nigeria. He also graduated from the National Institute for Policy and Strategic Studies, Kuru. He worked for 35 years in the Nigerian public sector, including 28 years as a Director of the Central Bank of Nigeria and the National Mint. He worked with the International Monetary Fund, the Federal Reserve System in the U.S.A and the City University London between 1964 and 1982.
He was an elected member of the 1988/89 Constituent Assembly. In 1992 he was a candidate to run for President of Nigeria on the platform of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), losing to M.K.O. Abiola.
Senator Durojaiye was an elected Senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (1999-2003) on the Alliance for Democracy (AD) platform for Ogun East constituency of Ogun State. After taking his seat in the Senate he was appointed to committees on Judiciary, Establishment (Chairman) and Special Projects.
In a letter dated August 2, 2016, sent to President of the Senate, Abubakar Bukola Saraki, Senator Olabiyi Durojaiye (South West) was nominated as Chairman, while Mr. Sunday Dare (South West) was placed as Executive Commissioner, Stakeholders Management.
Other nominated Non-Executive Commissioners were Aliyu Sa’idu Abubakar (North East), Clement Omeiza Baiye (North Central), Chief Okoi Ofem Obono Obla (South South), Pastor Ezekiel Yissa (North Central) and Senator Ifeanyi Ararume (South East).

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

WhatsApp chat